Thread: Need hard drive help

Need hard drive help

I'm new to Linux and have been playing with the Knoppix CD which I would like to install on the hard drive. Currently running Windows XP. To avoid problems with the NTFS file system, I could just install Windows 98. Considering that I don't care which Windows version I use, would this be a good idea,? Also, to avoid any problems with partitioning, I could just install another hard drive. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Senior Member registered user
    actually juat making a / and a swap partition on some free space would be enough, if oyu then make a fat32 partition aswell you can easily share files between the two.

if you could a extra new disk that you could make the 3 partitions on would be nice, not necesary but...

or even make 4 primary partitions on that new disk (yes 4 primary partitions works)
    / 3-4Gb
    swap (rule of thumb says 2x memory, id say less if you have more than 512Mb)
    fat32 (30Gb or so seems fair) for sharing files...
    and rest for /home (10Mb min)

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: Need hard drive help

Quote Originally Posted by Ezor
    I'm new to Linux and have been playing with the Knoppix CD which I would like to install on the hard drive. Currently running Windows XP. To avoid problems with the NTFS file system, I could just install Windows 98. Considering that I don't care which Windows version I use, would this be a good idea,? Also, to avoid any problems with partitioning, I could just install another hard drive. Any suggestions would be appreciated.