Thread: New to computers and new to Linux

New to computers and new to Linux

I'm new to computers, know very little about them. I am trying to learn and run Knoppix 3.6. Working off CD
    It finds all my usb items and states my g85 printer is there, but won't print test page. My major concern is that
    the desktop is larger than my screen and the bottom task bar is not in site. If I could get the desktop to veiw on the screen, maybe I could get some of these other things to come to life. Thank you for your help a senior citizen trying to stay busy.

Senior Member registered user
    The screen problem will probably on take a little tweaking but I don't know what to do.

The printer though, what type is it? USB?

Yes the printer is usb.

From the information you have provided it appears you have used the printer wizard to set up your printer.
    You may want to try running that again and if you can, select a different driver and see if that works.
    If you continue to have problems please provide as much detail as possible.

For the screen resolution problem you should be able to use the System>screen resize & rotate tool from the KDE menu
    to change your screen res. There are other ways to do that too like specifing the screen size at boot.

Good luck

Junior Member registered user
    I had the same problem with my old laptop, knoppix wants 1024x768 and i have an 800x600 screen

try fb800x600 or screen=800x600 in the boot prompt

where its like boot: and you normally press enter, type in

fb800x600

if that doesn't work try linux24 screen=800x600

I know nothing of these new fangled printers though

good luck

Member registered user
    at the boot: prompt, instead of waiting for it to timeout or hitting "enter", type this:

knoppix screen=800x600

or better yet, hit the F2 and/or F3 key and see all the wonderful option you can try.
    BTW, the screen=fb800x600 option means to use the FrameBuffer video driver at 800x600