Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Use apt-build to optimize for architecture

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    611

    Use apt-build to optimize for architecture

    I'm testing this out now and so far its working alright. I made a huge list of packages to do an apt-build world --reinstall on. Occaisionally, I strike a package from the list when there's not source available. Naturally, crictical (gcc libc6 kernel), knoppix-specific, and troublesome (openoffice) packages have been ommitted from my list. I'm using-

    -mcpu=athlon-xp -march=i686 -O3 -fomit-frame-pointer -ffast-math


    -march makes the code unuseable to everything but the cpu-type entered, -mcpu tunes the code for the specific cpu type but does not make it unuseable to other cpu's. -O3 sets the maximimum optimizations level (and makes bianries a little larger). The others are not as important. So the options I chose will optimize the code for Athlon XP's, and optimize/make the code unuseable to anything that's not i686 (386's, 486's, penitum 1's, and K6-2's). Pentium 2 and up should be fine and see a nice benefit, while Athlon XP's will see the most gain. If this works well, I might make two releases, the other one optimized for P4's.

    It won't break apt either. Although an upgrade or dist-upgrade would replace the optimized packages with standard ones, unless I do pinning to make apt-built packages have a higher priority. But pinning the optimized packages could hold up updating, so its sort of a catch-22. However, for a live CD, it seems like a great idea. Many users are not going to be installing, so they will get the extra optimization when runnning live. Users who install can choose to use

    apt-build install package_name

    for any package they want to optimize. And once I have a decent apt-build.list file populated with packages the source is available for and which are safe to rebuild, a user could apt-get upgrade and then follow-up with apt-build world --reinstall.


    Anyway, my latest project also has prelinking and I'm hoping to have a beta release by this weekend. It's based on Knoppix 3.8. If someone wants to guide me a little with kernel and initrd stuff, I'll use squashfs instead of cloop.


    BTW, does anyone know how to get rid of the Spanish language messages that come through dpkg when configuring in my chroot? Everything else is working in English except dpkg's error and configure messages and gvim when run in icewm. Will they just go away when its built and booted normally with the proper language code?



    Edit: For those who give apt-build a try, gcc messages will not show any of the Cflags you configure, however if you

    ps aux | grep cc

    You'll see them. I think this has to do with the gcc-wrapper used by apt-build.



    http://overclockix.octeams.com/ocix38.jpg

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    272

    Re: Use apt-build to optimize for architecture

    Quote Originally Posted by arkaine23
    BTW, does anyone know how to get rid of the Spanish language messages that come through dpkg when configuring in my chroot? Everything else is working in English except dpkg's error and configure messages and gvim when run in icewm. Will they just go away when its built and booted normally with the proper language code?
    Sorry for my late answer.

    In chroot you locale is LANG=POSIX by default. You get your own locales in use by adding /etc/sysconfig/i18n from you CD to the same place or running /etc/init.d/knoppix-autoconfig again (it is run during boot process before starting X).

    Of course in yoyr remastered CD your own locale settings are used.


    -tapsa-

Similar Threads

  1. 5 minute setup to build KDE 4, using kdesvn-build.
    By johnrw in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 11:38 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2006, 04:32 AM
  3. system architecture...
    By Phantom69 in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2005, 11:44 AM
  4. How to optimize my Hard Drive under Knoppix?
    By lyonh in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-31-2004, 05:15 PM
  5. Computers have Architecture??
    By net_benjo in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2004, 08:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED picture

IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED

$99.99



IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD picture

IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD

$399.99



ibm server z series picture

ibm server z series

$16000.00



IBM System x3250 M4 Server Intel Xeon E3-1220 3.10GHz 8GB RAM No HDDs picture

IBM System x3250 M4 Server Intel Xeon E3-1220 3.10GHz 8GB RAM No HDDs

$49.74



IBM Power 720 POWER7 00E6516 3.6GHz CPU 64GB RAM Server  picture

IBM Power 720 POWER7 00E6516 3.6GHz CPU 64GB RAM Server

$209.98



IBM Power 740 8205-E6C Express 8-SFF Power7 3.55GHz CPU 64GB RAM *No HDD* Server picture

IBM Power 740 8205-E6C Express 8-SFF Power7 3.55GHz CPU 64GB RAM *No HDD* Server

$191.99



IBM 7944AC1 System x3550 M3 Server 1*Intel Xeon X5650 2.67GHz 4GB SEE NOTES picture

IBM 7944AC1 System x3550 M3 Server 1*Intel Xeon X5650 2.67GHz 4GB SEE NOTES

$26.97



IBM System x3550 M4 Server 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2609 36GB RAM No HDDs picture

IBM System x3550 M4 Server 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2609 36GB RAM No HDDs

$68.84



IBM System X3650 Server M2 2 x Xeon X5570 2.93 Ghz w/128 GB/DVDRW picture

IBM System X3650 Server M2 2 x Xeon X5570 2.93 Ghz w/128 GB/DVDRW

$169.99



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 2.5

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 2.5" 12-Bay 64GB 2X 00ND478 2X 00E2865 *READ*

$599.99