Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problem Restoring Settings

Junior Member registered user

Problem Restoring Settings

I'm attempting to store and later recover my printer settings. I've used KNOPPIX->Configure->Save KNOPPIX configuration and saved the information on a floppy disk. This puts configs.tbz and knoppix.sh on the disk. Upon completion of this write, there is a message saying that I can reinstall these files by using the cheat codes: "knoppix myconfig=/mnt/auto/floppy" or "knoppix myconfig=scan". However, when I reboot, the first cheat code causes the system to hang up. There is an error message to the effect that "mnt" or whatever, isn't open. With the second code, the load continues, but the previous configuration of the printer isn't loaded. When I use either of these cheat codes, the light on the floppy drive comes on indicating that it's trying to read the floppy.

As a newbie, I haven't a clue as to what to do now. Please help!

Senior Member registered user
    I'm having exactly the same problem with knoppix 3.8.2. Looking at the cheat code list it says there to use the boot command:

knoppix floppyconfig

I tried that and got exactly the same results. This was disconcerting since I had spent a lot of time configuring things the way that I liked them.

I reconfigured my system and this time I saved my configuration info to /dev/hda2. When I rebooted I used the command:

knoppix myconfig=scan

That worked and I'm glad. However saving to and restoring from floppies should work also.

..., there is a message saying that I can reinstall these files by using the cheat codes: "knoppix myconfig=/mnt/auto/floppy....
    um have you mounted the floppy yet, by typeing...

Code:
    mnt /mnt/floppy/
    , or
    Code:
    mnt /dev/fd0/
    <-the /dev/fd0, works for me, try that one first...

you cant acess a disk without mounting it...