Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: problems with grub and knoppix-installer

  1. #1

    problems with grub and knoppix-installer

    Ok, the whole deal is I wanna leave hda1, NTFS WinXP hard drive, alone, and install Knoppix on hdb1(ext3), use the swap file hdb2, and have hdb3(FAT32) be the part of the HD both XP and Knoppix can access. So I made sure all the partitions were set on the secondary, then I installed, knoppix-installer liked the partitions very much, but when it came to grub/lilo, everything went downhill.

    I told it to go with grub. After the install was finished, I took the CD out, reset, then it loaded a single command prompt.

    grub>

    Last type of linux I installed, Mepis, gave me grub, but it was a bit more graphical, with a set of options for which OS I wanted to boot with. Is there anyway to get Grub or Lilo to give me a list of options instead of a command line? As of now I can only boot off of the CD, and can't access XP anymore. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY USA
    Posts
    1,510
    Boot off knoppix disc. Open up hdb1 and find boot/grub/menu.lst file. Open it up a text editor: sudo kate /mnt/hdb1/boot/grub/menu.lst

    It should have different sections, 2 for Knoppix & 1 for Windows.
    My Debian box's menu.lst file looks like:
    Code:
    title           Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.8-2-686-smp
    root            (hd0,7)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-2-686-smp root=/dev/hda8 ro nomce noacpi acpi=off
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.8-2-686-smp
    savedefault
    boot
    
    title           Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.8-2-686-smp (recovery mode)
    root            (hd0,7)
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-2-686-smp root=/dev/hda8 ro single
    initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.8-2-686-smp
    savedefault
    boot
    
    title           Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
    root            (hd0,0)
    savedefault
    makeactive
    chainloader     +1
    Your Windows section should match mine. The "title Microsoft Windows 2000 Professiona" line should not matter.

    Your Debian/Knoppix sections shoudl look similar to mine.
    The changes made to my lines to make it work on your system should look like:
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-2-686-smp root=/dev/hdb1 ro nomce noacpi acpi=off
    If these changes are made then it should work. Save the changes & exit the Kate editor.

    You may also have to reload grub to the Master Boot Record. Make sure /dev/hdb1 is mounted. Then:
    Code:
    sudo chroot /mnt/hdb1 /bin/bash
    
    grub-install /dev/hda
    
    exit
    
    sudo umount /mnt/hdb1
    Then reboot.

    If you have difficulties please post the entire menu.lst file.

  3. #3
    Big thanks! After changing the kernel to the one I was using, it loaded just fine! Now everything is in german. And I can't read german well enough to find the control console to change language settings. Any idea what "Control Console" is in German?

    EDIT--- Nevermind, I did the not so smart thing, and clicked on things at random. Found the control panel, was somewhat downhill from there.

    Big thanks again, now I have working Knoppix on my secondary HD, I can do everything except my games under linux, and I have XP for that. Thank you Underscore!

  4. #4
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    19
    i am following the above procedure to save my installation of debian. the system is in reiserfs. after booting from the cd i could see the drives. the / is recognised as /mnt/hda2, and /mnt/hda1 is windows. i followed the above procedure and i am getting an error which says "bash: grub-installer : command not recognised"
    any ideas?

  5. #5
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    19
    i forgot to mention that when i am issuing the grub-install /mnt/hda command, it comes up with an error that it is read-only.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by tsitras
    i am following the above procedure to save my installation of debian. the system is in reiserfs. after booting from the cd i could see the drives. the / is recognised as /mnt/hda2, and /mnt/hda1 is windows. i followed the above procedure and i am getting an error which says "bash: grub-installer : command not recognised"
    any ideas?
    There seems to be a typo. You need to use grub-install not grub-installer.

    Quote Originally Posted by tsitras
    i forgot to mention that when i am issuing the grub-install /mnt/hda command, it comes up with an error that it is read-only.
    You could try sudo mount -o remount,rw /mnt/hda2. If /mnt/hda2 is already mounted as read-only, then this should make it writable.
    You need to do this before the chroot-command.

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    19
    first i am issuing the command to become root and then i do mount -o remount,rw /mnt/hda2. then: chroot /mnt/hda2/ /bin/bash
    and finally i am issuing the command: grub-install /dev/hda, it does not work. then i go the long way: grub-install --recheck --no-floppy --root-directory=/mnt/hda2 /mnt/hda. it comes with an error: mkdir : cannot create directory '/mnt/hda2/boot':no such file or directory
    .still no progress. any ideas what i might be doing wrong?

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by tsitras
    first i am issuing the command to become root and then i do mount -o remount,rw /mnt/hda2. then: chroot /mnt/hda2/ /bin/bash
    and finally i am issuing the command: grub-install /dev/hda, it does not work. then i go the long way: grub-install --recheck --no-floppy --root-directory=/mnt/hda2 /mnt/hda. it comes with an error: mkdir : cannot create directory '/mnt/hda2/boot':no such file or directory
    .still no progress. any ideas what i might be doing wrong?
    I'm not an expert with grub-install, but there seems to be 2 errors in last command.
    First, if you are running from within chroot, you should probably use --root-directory=/ instead of --root-directory=/mnt/hda2 because there isn't any /mnt/hda2 within the chroot.
    Second, the /mnt/hda in the end should be /dev/hda because grub is expecting a device-name here.

    So you could try grub-install --recheck --no-floppy --root-directory=/ /dev/hda within the chroot or grub-install --recheck --no-floppy --root-directory=/mnt/hda2 /dev/hda outside the chroot.

  9. #9
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    19
    thanks a lot for the wuick reply.
    i tried to do it without chroot but it did not worked. then i did it through chroot and here is the output:
    Knoppix:/# grub-install --recheck --no-floppy --root-directory=/ /dev/hda
    Probing devices to guess BIOS drives. This may take a long time.
    /sbin/grub-install: line 389: /dev/null: Permission denied
    /dev/hda does not have any corresponding BIOS drive.
    Knoppix:/#

    grrrrrrrrrrrr. what is wrong?

Similar Threads

  1. Grub problems after Knoppix 4.0.2 HD install
    By bloomingeek in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2005, 09:51 AM
  2. Numerous problems with knoppix-installer and 3.8.1
    By ckapsl in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-09-2005, 02:24 PM
  3. 3.3 HD install via knoppix-installer (partition problems)
    By Kumagoro in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-01-2005, 04:26 AM
  4. knoppix-installer problems
    By Erwin2004 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2005, 10:25 PM
  5. HD Installer - Read Only Problems
    By Jameson in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-14-2004, 01:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED picture

IBM 8203 E4A p520 Server 8203-E4A 4.2GHz 2-Core POWER6 32GB RAM / NO HDD USED

$99.99



IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD picture

IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD

$399.99



ibm server z series picture

ibm server z series

$16000.00



IBM System x3250 M4 Server Intel Xeon E3-1220 3.10GHz 8GB RAM No HDDs picture

IBM System x3250 M4 Server Intel Xeon E3-1220 3.10GHz 8GB RAM No HDDs

$49.74



IBM Power 720 POWER7 00E6516 3.6GHz CPU 64GB RAM Server  picture

IBM Power 720 POWER7 00E6516 3.6GHz CPU 64GB RAM Server

$209.98



IBM Power 740 8205-E6C Express 8-SFF Power7 3.55GHz CPU 64GB RAM *No HDD* Server picture

IBM Power 740 8205-E6C Express 8-SFF Power7 3.55GHz CPU 64GB RAM *No HDD* Server

$191.99



IBM 7944AC1 System x3550 M3 Server 1*Intel Xeon X5650 2.67GHz 4GB SEE NOTES picture

IBM 7944AC1 System x3550 M3 Server 1*Intel Xeon X5650 2.67GHz 4GB SEE NOTES

$26.97



IBM System x3550 M4 Server 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2609 36GB RAM No HDDs picture

IBM System x3550 M4 Server 2 x Intel Xeon E5-2609 36GB RAM No HDDs

$68.84



IBM Power S822 8284-22A 2.5

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 2.5" 12-Bay 64GB 2X 00ND478 2X 00E2865 *READ*

$599.99



IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W picture

IBM Lenovo X3650 M5 2U 8x 2.5” CTO Rack Server – 2x HS, 2x 750W

$199.00