Thread: knoppix and a external hard drive

knoppix and a external hard drive

Hey,
    I am new to all this so bear with me.
    My Dell PC had crapped out on me (BSOD) I have tried various "fixes" to try to get it up and running with no success. I could just reformat the PC but I don't want to lose all my photos and a bunch of songs that I either purchased or have in itunes. I stumbled upon an article about Knoppix and decided to give it shot. Mind you I am no computer wizard, but I am not afraid to try some things on my own before I have a "professional" try. Well I was able to locate all the files that i want to save/keep, but here is my problem. USB thumb drives are to small to hold all the files that I am trying to keep.(about 40 gigs worth) I tried a external hard drive, but knoppix was not reading the hard drive. Can someone point me in the right direction to find an external/portable hard drive that will work. Also I was using version 3.9 of knoppix. should I use the latest version?

Administrator Site Admin-
    Knoppix can usually access an external hard drive, a newer version may help. But keep reading before you rush to do this.

If the external hard drive is formatted as FAT32 then you should be fine. But if it is formatted as NTFS then your version of Knoppix certainly can't write to it. Some people believe that the newest versions of Knoppix can safely write to NTFS, but I personally would not risk this unless the drive was empty and just being used to transfer the files elsewhere. Backup the NTFS drive files before taking any additional risk.

A much cleaner way to recover files with Knoppix is across a wired network. install a FTP server on the system that you wish to send the files to. Boot Knoppix on the bad system and confirm that you can ping the destination system. Then use Konquror as an FTP client to send files to the other computer by FTP.
    ---
    Verifying of md5 checksum and burning a CD at slow speed are important.