Thread: A few issues

A few issues

I wish to do a HDD install of Knoppix onto my laptop. I am a complete linux/multi-OS newbie and I want to know how I can 'dual boot' knoppix with windows 98.

I can create partitions and everything fine in PartitionMagic 7, I just want to make sure that I can have the choice of whether to run win98 or knoppix when I boot up. Is there any tutorials on how to set this up?

Also I've ran into a problem with my 'root password', I never have set a password (or don't remember doing so), yet it keeps on asking me for one. I can type the 'su' in the shell to get into root, but when I tried to run lilo (someone said it's used for a boot loader or something), it asks me for a password, and nothing works... Can anyone shed some light on this issue? Thanks a lot.

Senior Member registered user

Re: A few issues

Quote Originally Posted by rushworld
    I wish to do a HDD install of Knoppix onto my laptop. I am a complete linux/multi-OS newbie and I want to know how I can 'dual boot' knoppix with windows 98.

I can create partitions and everything fine in PartitionMagic 7, I just want to make sure that I can have the choice of whether to run win98 or knoppix when I boot up. Is there any tutorials on how to set this up?
    Set up your partitions then and when you run knoppix-installer it will offer to format them and install Linux to them. Also- you will have the opportunity to install LiLo to the MBR- choose yes. LiLo is intelligent and will let you select your OS from a menu.

Also I've ran into a problem with my 'root password', I never have set a password (or don't remember doing so), yet it keeps on asking me for one. I can type the 'su' in the shell to get into root, but when I tried to run lilo (someone said it's used for a boot loader or something), it asks me for a password, and nothing works... Can anyone shed some light on this issue? Thanks a lot.