Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: need help config US Robotics modem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6

    need help config US Robotics modem

    I have a US Robotics 2977 modem, my computer wont reconize it can you help me set it up.
    I'm running Knoppix of fa bootable disk and my defualt operating system is win98

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    The first thing to do is trouble shoot hardware.

    Does it work at all in windows? Does the computer see it at all?

    At boot time, a screen should come up that has a list of devices, at this point you can hit the pause button and view them. If there's nothing there, you probably have "Plug-and-play OS" disabled in your bios.

    If it's a pci modem, you can try:
    Code:
    cat /proc/pci
    This should give you a list of all pci devices. If your modem shows up there, then the computer see's it, and it's probably a software problem. Otherwise, you most likely have a dead modem

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    106
    If it's a hardware modem, you should be able to set it up and test it in kppp.
    If it's a winmodem, start at: limodems.org

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6
    The Modem works fine with win 98 which is my defualt operating system.
    When I boot Knoppix I see the list of devices but there is no modem in that list.
    how do I turn on the Plug and Play OS?
    Thanks

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6
    It is a PCI modem

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    106
    If it's a hardware modem, it is treated like a serial port, and you should be able to select it as something like dev/ttyS2 in kppp. You can test it with kppp with the quirey modem button.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    157

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    6
    When I query modem, it goes for a couple seconds then says modem query timed out.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    type "cat /proc/pci"
    Bus 0, device 10, function 0:
    Serial controller: US Robotics/3Com 56K FaxModem Model 5610 (rev 1).
    IRQ 5.
    I/O at 0xa000 [0xa007].

    type "dmesg | grep ttyS"
    ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
    ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
    ttyS04 at port 0xa000 (irq = 5) is a 16550A

    type "lspci -v"
    00:0a.0 Serial controller: US Robotics/3Com 56K FaxModem Model 5610 (rev 01) (prog-if 02 [16550])
    Subsystem: US Robotics/3Com USR 56k Internal FAX Modem (Model 2977)
    Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 5
    I/O ports at a000 [size=8]
    Capabilities: <available only to root>



    with the above info (gathered from your computer) use the following tips to make KPPP work [assuming a hard drive install of knoppix]:

    setserial -v /dev/ttyS4 uart 16550A port 0xa000 irq 5

    add above line to:
    /etc/init.d/setserial

    where do put this?
    ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem
    these two lines seem to work in .login
    suassword
    ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem

    in KPPP choose /dev/modem and voila, KPPP will now dial your ISP




    notes below are for ppp via console:

    cd /etc

    wvdialconf [auto creation of wvdial.conf]

    /etc/wvdial.conf

    sample wvdial.conf follows:

    [Dialer Defaults]
    Modem = /dev/ttyS4
    Baud = 57600
    Init = ATZ
    Init2 = AT S11=50
    Phone = xxx-xxxx
    Username = xxxxxxx
    Password = xxxxxxx

    [Dialer phone2]
    Phone = 555-4243

    [Dialer shh]
    Init3 = ATM0

    [Dialer pulse]
    Dial Command = ATDP



    after your wvdial.conf is set type "wvdial"

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8
    >where do put this?
    >ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem
    >these two lines seem to work in .login
    >suassword
    >ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem

    opps, this seems like a mistake in that once a symbolic link is created it remains.

    so, all you have to type is:

    suassword
    ln -s /dev/ttyS4 /dev/modem

    no need to put it into your .login

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-27-2005, 06:19 PM
  2. Robotics 5610 modem - How do I do this
    By crhoff in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 09:00 PM
  3. Knoppix and US Robotics 56k Internal Modem
    By tb75252 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-09-2004, 01:20 AM
  4. US Robotics external modem trouble
    By bullgoose in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-2003, 04:28 PM
  5. SB Live and US robotics modem not working...please help!
    By jamesgf in forum General Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2003, 03:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


ASUS H170M-PLUS Motherboard M-ATX Intel H170 LGA1151 DDR4 SATA3 HDMI DVI-D VGA picture

ASUS H170M-PLUS Motherboard M-ATX Intel H170 LGA1151 DDR4 SATA3 HDMI DVI-D VGA

$47.99



ASRock B550M Pro SE AM4 DDR4 SATA 6Gb/s 1 PCIe 4.0 x16 Micro ATX Motherboard picture

ASRock B550M Pro SE AM4 DDR4 SATA 6Gb/s 1 PCIe 4.0 x16 Micro ATX Motherboard

$84.99



Asus H81M-C Intel LGA1150 DDR3 Desktop Motherboard MicroATX Socket H3  picture

Asus H81M-C Intel LGA1150 DDR3 Desktop Motherboard MicroATX Socket H3

$23.99



ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield picture

ASUS H110M-R Motherboard Intel 6th/7th Gen LGA1151 DDR4 Micro-ATX i/o shield

$35.69



MSI PRO Z690-A WiFi ProSeries Intel LGA 1700 DDR5 Wi-Fi 6E ATX Motherboard picture

MSI PRO Z690-A WiFi ProSeries Intel LGA 1700 DDR5 Wi-Fi 6E ATX Motherboard

$84.95



MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard picture

MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard

$96.01



Gigabyte GA-Q170M-D3H-GSM LGA1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard  (No  I/O Plate) picture

Gigabyte GA-Q170M-D3H-GSM LGA1151 DDR4 Desktop Motherboard (No I/O Plate)

$39.99



GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4P MOTHERBOARD, M.2 SATA3, LGA2011-3, DDR4, & I/O Shield picture

GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4P MOTHERBOARD, M.2 SATA3, LGA2011-3, DDR4, & I/O Shield

$69.99



Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming 4S/AC Wifi 8th/9th Gen Intel 1151 Motherboard Bulk picture

Asrock Z390 Phantom Gaming 4S/AC Wifi 8th/9th Gen Intel 1151 Motherboard Bulk

$40.92



MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard picture

MSI PRO B650-P WiFi AMD AM5 DDR5 WiFi 6E ProSeries Motherboard

$84.96