Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Unable to connect to the internet

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6

    Unable to connect to the internet

    Hi everyone,

    I can't seem to find the answer to this, so I decided to make a thread about this.

    I'm running Windows XP Home Edition w/ SP1 installed, and all the updates available are installed also. I got Knoppix v3.2 (I downloaded it about 1 year ago, and haven't updated since for some reasons). What I did was reboot from the CD, which went fine. Then I opened up the browser, and it wouldn't connect. So I ran "Kommand", and typed in lspci, and got a list of some stuff on my computer. One was my ethernet card (nVidia...dunno what else it said about it though). So then I ran ifconfig eth0, which returned a "no device found" error. Then I tried pump, but I have to be admin to run it (forgot howto do this), and then restarting the network also failed.

    More info: I have an external cabel/dsl box, which is ethernet. I get my IP from DHCP, and my IP isn't static.

    So, basically, what I'm asking is does anyone know how to fix this?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    692
    1. Let me start by saying that I have no clue on Earth, BUT

    2. I'd be really curious to see if a newer version of Knoppix would help. Like you, I started with 3.2 and put it aside, and it is amazing to me how many more drivers and apps that 3.4 has.

    3. In a console, 'su' makes you root; 'sudo' makes you root for the particular command.

    4. I'm running ADSL right now with DHCP on v3.4 - no configuration needed.

    JD

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by j.drake
    1. Let me start by saying that I have no clue on Earth, BUT

    2. I'd be really curious to see if a newer version of Knoppix would help. Like you, I started with 3.2 and put it aside, and it is amazing to me how many more drivers and apps that 3.4 has.

    3. In a console, 'su' makes you root; 'sudo' makes you root for the particular command.

    4. I'm running ADSL right now with DHCP on v3.4 - no configuration needed.

    JD
    I downloaded 3.4, and booted it up. It detects it when I run ifconfig eth0, but it still won't connect.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    900
    Well Knoppix 3.4 does support onboard nvidia ethernet just fine. When you do ifconfig do you see eth0? Does it have an i.p. address? It would look like so:
    Code:
    $ sudo ifconfig     
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:02:2A:B4:A2:76  
              inet addr:192.168.1.101  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:284169 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:394896 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:10608 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:65534498 (62.4 MiB)  TX bytes:442301128 (421.8 MiB)
              Interrupt:9 Base address:0x9f00 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:59151 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:59151 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:4791260 (4.5 MiB)  TX bytes:4791260 (4.5 MiB)
    You can always try /etc/init.d/networking restart or pump then see if you get an i.p. address. If you do get an i.p. can you ping inside the LAN? Out?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4

    Same problem here, so it seems.

    I have the same problem with 3.4. (lrdy made a new topic for this one, but maybe this wil shed some light here too, because i found out that DHCP-broadcast failed).

    I used Knoppix3.3 with no problems (on both my laptop and desktop), but with 3.4, DHCP-broadcast doesnt seem to work on my laptop (it does on my desktop however) because if I run ifconfig I only see the local loopback thingy.

    Any suggestions?

    * I'm using a Toshiba Satelite Pro 4600
    * Im using the knoppix26 cheat-code because the normal kernel hangs at startup.

    Wimmel, the linux N00B but sertainly a linux FAN!

    P.S. Excuse my bad english!

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to connect to router with V3.9
    By lostinspace in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-12-2005, 09:00 PM
  2. apt-get update unable to connect to ftp.de.debian.org
    By apessos in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-18-2005, 06:12 AM
  3. Unable to connect to proxy server
    By johar in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-15-2003, 08:40 PM
  4. Unable to connect to the Internet ADSL-nic
    By ePro in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2003, 07:39 PM
  5. Unable to connect to internet before and after hdinstall
    By cycopy in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2003, 04:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System picture

IBM Power S822 8284-22A 12SFF Power8 3.89GHz 6Core 64GB RAM No HDD Server System

$359.99



IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD picture

IBM Power S822 12-Bay Server System Power8 Core 3.42Ghz DVD-Rom Drive 64GB No HD

$349.99



1U IBM x3550 M5 4 Bay SFF SAS3 Server 2x E5-2683 V3 28 Core 128GB DDR4 2x Tray picture

1U IBM x3550 M5 4 Bay SFF SAS3 Server 2x E5-2683 V3 28 Core 128GB DDR4 2x Tray

$318.00



IBM Netezza 3567 picture

IBM Netezza 3567

$19999.00



IBM POWER7 8205 8205 SERIES 2BCD SERVER OPERATOR CONTROL PANEL ASSEMBLY 74Y3964 picture

IBM POWER7 8205 8205 SERIES 2BCD SERVER OPERATOR CONTROL PANEL ASSEMBLY 74Y3964

$10.00



IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD picture

IBM System x3550 M3 Dual Intel Xeon X5650 @2.67GHz 32GB RAM No HDD

$84.50



IBM Power8 S822L 20-Core 3.42GHz 256Gb 1.2Tb 40G Elastic Storage Server 5148-22L picture

IBM Power8 S822L 20-Core 3.42GHz 256Gb 1.2Tb 40G Elastic Storage Server 5148-22L

$599.95



VINTAGE IBM PC SERVER MODEL 325 Beige Tower Computer picture

VINTAGE IBM PC SERVER MODEL 325 Beige Tower Computer

$799.00



IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD) picture

IBM System X3250 M3 Server 8GB RAM Intel Xeon x3440 2.53ghz (NO HDD)

$41.99



IBM System X3550 M5 2x Xeon E5-2640 V3 2.60GHZ 192GB DDR4-2133MHZ 2x 550W picture

IBM System X3550 M5 2x Xeon E5-2640 V3 2.60GHZ 192GB DDR4-2133MHZ 2x 550W

$249.99