Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: modem says its busy

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    michigan
    Posts
    2

    modem says its busy

    Ive been trying to set up a usrobotics pro modem on my win98/knoppix the usrobotics people couldnt help me I finally got it to see the modem by setting it to ttyS2 but it says it is busy,is there a way to make this work or am I wasting my time,please someone help me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    Do this:
    Code:
    cat /proc/pci
    It sould list the name of the modem somewhere, and give an irq.

    Next type:
    Code:
    dmesg | grep ttyS
    It should come up with a list addresses(something like ttyS04), followed by an irq value.
    Find the two irq's that match, then type (as root):
    [edit]
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    [/edit]

    Then in kppp, select the device "/dev/modem". If your modem still doesn't work after that, it may be unsupported.

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    361
    Quote Originally Posted by turbinater
    Find the two irq's that match, then type (as root):
    Code:
    ls -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    That probably should be:
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by windos_no_thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by turbinater
    Find the two irq's that match, then type (as root):
    Code:
    ls -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    That probably should be:
    Code:
    ln -s /dev/(address) /dev/modem
    Yes, I believe that would work a lot better.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to open modem /modem busy
    By jodef in forum Networking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 08:21 AM
  2. modem is busy when quering the modem
    By abrand888 in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2005, 07:21 PM
  3. Modem busy after reboot
    By Sachiel in forum Networking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 10:11 PM
  4. modem busy/not found
    By cuk in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2004, 12:26 PM
  5. modem busy error
    By gtgoku in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-28-2003, 11:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Atari Best TT Touch Upgrade Keyboard Contacts picture

Atari Best TT Touch Upgrade Keyboard Contacts

$36.00



Atari Best XE Touch Upgrade Keyboard Contacts picture

Atari Best XE Touch Upgrade Keyboard Contacts

$30.00



Atari 8bit A8PicoCart Multi-Cart For Atari Computer picture

Atari 8bit A8PicoCart Multi-Cart For Atari Computer

$28.95



A8picoCart Atari 130 / 65 XE 800 / 1200 XL XEGS multicart UnoCart atarimax clone picture

A8picoCart Atari 130 / 65 XE 800 / 1200 XL XEGS multicart UnoCart atarimax clone

$28.50



Atari 400/800/XL/XE Computer SIO2PC - PC/Mac Disk Drive Emulator Adapter/Device picture

Atari 400/800/XL/XE Computer SIO2PC - PC/Mac Disk Drive Emulator Adapter/Device

$15.25



SIO2PC Atari 400 800 XL XE Drive Emulator picture

SIO2PC Atari 400 800 XL XE Drive Emulator

$15.85



ATARI 820 40-Column Printer /w New Ribbon 400/800/1200XL/1450/XF551/822/130XE picture

ATARI 820 40-Column Printer /w New Ribbon 400/800/1200XL/1450/XF551/822/130XE

$299.98



Yamaha external  SCSI CDRW Recorder Atari commodore Amiga pc picture

Yamaha external SCSI CDRW Recorder Atari commodore Amiga pc

$29.99



TEAM TAP Atari Jaguar Multi Player Adapter NEW In Box picture

TEAM TAP Atari Jaguar Multi Player Adapter NEW In Box

$29.95



Atari 600 XL Vintage Home Computer New IN BOX W/ Manuals Cables Original Box picture

Atari 600 XL Vintage Home Computer New IN BOX W/ Manuals Cables Original Box

$239.99