Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Auto run of programs.

  1. #1
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    12

    Auto run of programs.

    Is it possible to setup Knoppix so that it will auto run a console based program as soon as the machine boots? Please use details on any methods described. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    I'm sure there are better and more efficient ways of doing this but this should work. And I assume this is after a HD install.
    Creat a text file that begins with #! /bin/sh and follow with the commands you want executed.
    Save your file in the /etc/rc5.d directory.
    Make sure your file name starts with S99
    Make sure it is executable by root (I believe).
    It will now be one of the last scripts to be executed when your computer to boots (at least to the KNOPPIX default run level 5).

    Good Luck,

    Mike

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    12
    I gave your suggestion a shot and it gives me a permission error. I have made sure that it and the file to executed by the script are executable by all users.

    Is there anything else that I need to place in the script file? I placed the text you gave mean and the following command:

    "/cdrom/program/program"

    Thanks again for the help.

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    96
    What are you trying to do? More specifics might help.

  5. #5
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by mmaki
    I'm sure there are better and more efficient ways of doing this but this should work. And I assume this is after a HD install.
    Creat a text file that begins with #! /bin/sh and follow with the commands you want executed.
    Save your file in the /etc/rc5.d directory.
    Make sure your file name starts with S99
    Make sure it is executable by root (I believe).
    It will now be one of the last scripts to be executed when your computer to boots (at least to the KNOPPIX default run level 5).
    This assumes that one is using the Knoppix off of the hard drive, and that the user is entering run level 5.

    If you are using a console-based program, you might be entering run level 2, in which case the program should be put into /etc/rc2.d. Make sure the program has permissions of 755 (rwxr-xr-x).

    Better yet is to put the program into /etc/init.d and put a link in /etc/rc2.d:

    cd /etc/rc2.d
    ln -s ../init.d/myprog S99myprog

    Notice that the link starts with S99 but the standard program does not.

    Another way which works with the Knoppix CD is to put a shell script on a floppy and enter "floppyconfig" at the command line. With a console-based program, you probably want to use the "2" option also.

  6. #6
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Guayaquil, Ecuador
    Posts
    14

    And persistent home??

    And persistent-home, what level run ??
    1,2, 5???
    /home/knoppix in /ramdisk is mounted in that level??

  7. #7
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for everyones help. I had the permissions wrong before I compressed the Knoppix file but when I looked at them on the cd they appeared differently. Stupid mistake #542.

Similar Threads

  1. Auto Log-in issues
    By darksky in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2005, 03:50 AM
  2. No auto-connection in 3.4
    By necokop in forum Networking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 05:14 PM
  3. auto starting NIS
    By fkbangun in forum Networking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 08:33 AM
  4. More about : Auto Run of programs
    By KnoppIXuser in forum Customising & Remastering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2003, 09:55 AM
  5. auto: auto: no such file or directory
    By maddany in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 02:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Intel Core i7-13700KF 16-Core 3.4GHz Processor picture

Intel Core i7-13700KF 16-Core 3.4GHz Processor

$267.75



AMD Ryzen 9 7900X3D Gaming Processor - 12 Core And 24 Threads - 5.60 GHz Max Boo picture

AMD Ryzen 9 7900X3D Gaming Processor - 12 Core And 24 Threads - 5.60 GHz Max Boo

$349.99



Intel - Core i9-14900K 14th Gen 24-Core 32-Thread - 4.4GHz (6.0GHz Turbo) Soc... picture

Intel - Core i9-14900K 14th Gen 24-Core 32-Thread - 4.4GHz (6.0GHz Turbo) Soc...

$548.99



AMD Ryzen 5 5600X 6-core 12-Thread Desktop Processor AVZ9 picture

AMD Ryzen 5 5600X 6-core 12-Thread Desktop Processor AVZ9

$104.99



Intel - Core i5-14600K 14th Gen 14-Core 20-Thread - 4.0GHz (5.3GHz Turbo) Soc... picture

Intel - Core i5-14600K 14th Gen 14-Core 20-Thread - 4.0GHz (5.3GHz Turbo) Soc...

$306.99



Intel Xeon E5-2680 v4 SR2N7 2.40GHz 35MB 14-Core LGA2011-3 CPU Processor picture

Intel Xeon E5-2680 v4 SR2N7 2.40GHz 35MB 14-Core LGA2011-3 CPU Processor

$14.99



AMD Ryzen 5-7600X Desktop Processor (4.7 GHz, 6 Cores, 12 Threads, AM5) Raphael picture

AMD Ryzen 5-7600X Desktop Processor (4.7 GHz, 6 Cores, 12 Threads, AM5) Raphael

$159.99



AMD Ryzen 5 7600x Processor (5.3 GHz, 6 Cores, LGA 1718/Socket AM5) NEW OEM Tray picture

AMD Ryzen 5 7600x Processor (5.3 GHz, 6 Cores, LGA 1718/Socket AM5) NEW OEM Tray

$169.98



** Intel i3 10100F CPU Processor - USED  ** picture

** Intel i3 10100F CPU Processor - USED **

$47.99



Intel Core i5-13600K - 13th Gen Raptor Lake 14-Core (6P+8E) 3.5GHz LGA CPU picture

Intel Core i5-13600K - 13th Gen Raptor Lake 14-Core (6P+8E) 3.5GHz LGA CPU

$259.99