This unlikely behaviour can be easily achieved by trying to delete a large file. The menu in 3.9 only allows you to move to trash. If the file is say 2 GB, no trash, no RAM has this capacity. Instead of telling you so, 3.9 crashes and you have to reboot. So you have no way to erase any large file. However, the 3.8 Knoppix gave you another option in the menu, a straight delete of the file. Obviously, it is convenient to bring this option back.
