3.4 (2.6.6) hd installed. When using "root" my desktop configuration is saved, and when I reboot to root the desktop comes up as I last configured it. when I use user desktop my desktop configuration is not saved . Example: When in "user" the default floppy doesn't work. I delete that floppy and and make a new "floppy device icon" (/dev/fd0) which works as it should. When I shut down and reboot to user. The old default icons are now back. It seems I am unable to erase the default user devices permanently from the user desktop. Also, my sound mixer settings revert back to the default settings too.
TIA, Jesse