Been there already, done that already (upgraded 3.4, killed it, reinstalled). Then just recently (I'm a slow learner!), I upgraded again, figuring I had caused most of my previous problems by allowing the upgrade to install new config files instead of keeping the old ones. Mostly it upgraded OK but I now have a lot of stuff starting in runlevel 5 that wasn't there before. I want to delete these from automatically starting but I want to know what they are first. See separate post.