I understand.

Maybe most people don't use this feature of saving an image to a usb drive. I like it because I don't have to enter all my set ups again.

Maybe if you have time you could try it to see if you experience the same thing by saving an image. How do you handle things you change? Do you just dump it all at reboot time?