Hi.

I'm new to Knoppix and having a boot issue I can't seem to figure out. I've looked for the answer/solution before posting, but no luck. So here goes.... This should be pretty simple to fix (for someone who knows what they're doing).

Summary of what I've done and where I'm at now.

Downloaded and burned Knoppix 4.0 DVD (EN). Booted off the DVD with no problems. I have a 1GB USB Key and it mounted fine (as sdf1). When I booted up to the desktop, there were a bunch of drive icons (all in German) that I didn't want since I'm not going to be using anything except the USB key and perhaps an external USB hard drive. Sent all the unneeded icons to the Trask to remove clutter. Renamed the remaining two drive icons to USB Key and WD Ext. Made various changes to the desktop (background, icons, splash screen, rtc.) Changed multiple desktops from 4 (default) to 2.

Then I mounted the USB Key and allowed it to be writable. Saved the configuration (KNOPPIX - Configure - Save KNOPPIX configuration) to the USB Key. Dialog says save was successful. Then created a Persistent Home Directory on the USB using KNOPPIX - Configure - Create a persistent KNOPPIX disk image). Again all went well and system says it completed successfully. I followed the steps in http://unit.aist.go.jp/itri/knoppix/...n/index20.html exactly and so far, so good.

OK That's the background. Here's my problem.

When I boot the system with the USB drive in, I use the cheat code knoppix home=/mnt/sdf1 myconfig=/mnt/sdf1 I've tried using only one of these at a time and also together. I've also substituted knoppix home=/dev/sdf1 for the knoppix home=/mnt/sdf1
All (I think. I've done this so many times, it's hard to keep straight) produce the same or similar results.

During the boot process, all goes well. I get to a KNOPPIX Configuration screen (kind of looks like an old DOS screen). In it there are 4 choices: HOME, SYSTEM, OVERWRITE, INIT. All but OVERWRITE have an 'X' in the checkbox. If I leave the screen as is, the system continues to boot and the following lines appear:

/home/knoppix mounted OK from /mnt/sdf1/knoppix.img
Read-only CD/DVD system successfully merged with read-write /mnt/sdf1/knoppix.img


The desktop comes up with the splash screen I selected and with the wallpaper I changed to. The problem is is that all of the icons I deleted are now back with their original German names, and I'm back to 4 desktops showing. Sometimes (maybe all the time) I also have two Trash icons. Therefore, it appears the system is partially loading my config, but apparently merging it with the default. The line from the boot process above seems to indicate that as well.

I think the solution is to remove the 'X' from SYSTEM choice on the KNOPPIX Configuration screen, but I don't know how to do that. Either that or type something when I boot to disable this from happening.

Can someone help me? I appreciate any suggestions.