Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: The newest of newbies...

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154

    The newest of newbies...

    Appologies. I am not proficient in any kind of command line schenanigans.
    I want to try to wheen myself off win2k, and loved Knoppix, because everything set itself up automatically - amazing - I could even read (although, regretably, not write) my NTFS partition from the LiveCD version.
    Excellent, I thought, I can install it! But no, when I start up, all my partitions are gone, all of the easiness is gone. Oh dear.
    What can I do?
    Is there any way to describe, keystroke by keystroke, how to restore all of the automaticness of Knoppix livecd, or am I stuffed? If so, how do I remove LILO and go back to just Win2k without the multi boot?
    Thanks for the help,
    Tortoise.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    3

    In addition

    I hope you don't mind me posting on your thread, only yours are my sentiments also. We (myself and my learned friend) found how to mount other drives with knoppix installed but we can only access the free space on those drives, we can't access however, any files that windows has laid down.

    The other thing that I find curious, is the fact that when we use live CD, we have every componant installed and we have Internet access. (We use broadband through a usb ethernet port. Once installed, we don't have that luxury, although our first restart following our very first knopix boot up on hard drive did access the net, bet we haven't seen the light of day since.

  3. #3
    Junior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    16
    When installing Knoppix to HD it becomes a bit more complicated to use, but that is because you also gain many features that were unavailable from the live cd. After installation Knoppix basically becomes a Debian GNU/Linux installation, so I suggest you follow the advice in the forum description and take a look at the Debian website.

    If you decide not the return to the windows world (like I did) despite all the initial "difficulty" in Linux I suggest you get a good book about Linux and Debian in particular. (I.e. the Debian Bible is a very good book for beginners.)

    I am sorry that I cannot help you with your problems in a more direct manner but I am still a Knoppix/Debian newbie myself.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    From an earlier post.....

    Ok, check out this post: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2230

    Check out what Fabianx says.

    This should easily get you setup with all the same icons on the desktop that were detected when you ran things from the CD.

    In order to make these partitions writeable in addition to readable, you may need to go to /etc/fstab and change the all the partitions which have the "ro" options to "rw".

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    OK, so I decided that multi boot systems are not the way that I want to go (this is a work computer, and I don't want to mess with the settings too much) so, after much grief, I worked out how to remove LILO (the SUSE website had it, simply boot from the win2k cd, press "R" during the setup, then "C" to enter the console, and type FIXMBR at the prompt, EXIT to reboot.

    So, what now?
    I would love to be able to pop the Knoppix CD in whenever I want, have a swapfile configured, or run the ISO from the HD for speed, but have all the autoconfig stuff so that it still looks like the great LIVECD version, only faster, and with the ability to read / write to my (non NTFS) and read (NTFS) discs.

    I'm stuck as to how to do this, and appreciate your patience and advice!
    Thank you,
    Nick

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    I'm pretty sure this has been addressed in the docs section so you may want to read that and then post back with questions that need answering.

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    >I'm pretty sure this has been addressed in the docs section so you may >want to read that and then post back with questions that need answering.

    Thanks, I was first trying to create a floppy boot system with a persistant home, but I couldn't understand the instructions. I have an NTFS partition with win2000, and a fat32 partition, to which I have copied the entire contents of the Knoppix 3.2 CD (the cd boots without problems).
    In the docs it reffers to the file "knx_persistent_home", but I can't find this file, or "knoppix.sh".
    Any clues?
    What I want is to stop using the cd, and boot to Win2000 normally, but when I put the boot floppy in the drive, boot from the fat32 partition with the Knoppix on it.
    Is this possible?
    Thank you for your patience...
    Tortoise

    PS I was reading the 'Knoppix as advocacy' section - it's great, but oh, how wonderful it would be to have a distro for newbies that installed the same as the livecd, with all of the autoconfig, if they wanted the extra features, they could play around and install a 'real' version, but it would work without grief for basic word pro, internet etc... I guess I can dream...

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,353
    If you click on the K menu button, and go to the Knoppix subfolder. There should be some icons that you can click that will start knoppix persistent home and the script to save your settings. (at least that's the way it used to be). After you click on them the wizard should walk you through the rest of the process. Just make sure to note the boot option that you need to use for these things. I forget what they are, but the script should tell you.

  9. #9
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    (If you click on the K menu button, and go to the Knoppix subfolder. There should be some icons that you can click that will start knoppix persistent home and the script to save your settings. (at least that's the way it used to be). After you click on them the wizard should walk you through the rest of the process. Just make sure to note the boot option that you need to use for these things. I forget what they are, but the script should tell you.)

    Ok, thanks! I have set up a persistant home on hda3, which is an ext2 filesystem partition, and also set up a swap file, which knoppix seemed to insist on putting on my fat32, without the option to put it onto the ext part, never mind, I don't think it matters where it goes?
    I also couldn't save my configuration files to hda3, onlyto hda2, the fat32 partition. Any idea what that is about?

    Thanks for all the help, it's much appreciated.
    Tortoise

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    154
    Ok I'm stumped. Knoppix saves the stuff, but then when I type

    knoppix home = scan (or knoppix home= /dev/hda3)
    it loads, but when I try to open the drive my home is on, I get an error

    Could not mount device.
    The reported error was:
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda3

    or too many mounted file systems

    There are three that I know of, is that too many?

    Typing myconf=scan results in an error about the kernel.

    I don't understand what I'm doing wrong, any clues?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What files are the newest and needed to compile knoopix
    By dubayou in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-15-2004, 06:00 AM
  2. Newbies? These guys aren't newbies!
    By Anna in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-10-2004, 11:09 AM
  3. USB Mouse and the Newest version of Knoppix
    By ang31-0f-d347h in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2004, 11:39 PM
  4. hwsetup newest
    By PrOCesSkIlL in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2003, 08:58 PM
  5. Add newest NTFS support (more stability)
    By ktheking in forum Ideas
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-22-2003, 08:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server / 2x E5-2630 = 12 Cores / 32GB RAM / H710 picture

Dell PowerEdge R720 Server / 2x E5-2630 = 12 Cores / 32GB RAM / H710

$308.80



Supermicro 2U X8DT3 2x E5620 2.4ghz 8-Cores / 24gb Ram / 12x Trays / 2x 720w picture

Supermicro 2U X8DT3 2x E5620 2.4ghz 8-Cores / 24gb Ram / 12x Trays / 2x 720w

$179.99



Dell PowerEdge R710 2U Server 2x X5660 2.80GHZ 12-Core / 64gb / 2xTrays / Perc6i picture

Dell PowerEdge R710 2U Server 2x X5660 2.80GHZ 12-Core / 64gb / 2xTrays / Perc6i

$199.99



HYVE ZEUS V1 1U SERVER 1x XEON QUAD CORE E5-2609 2.4GHz 4GB RAM NO HDD picture

HYVE ZEUS V1 1U SERVER 1x XEON QUAD CORE E5-2609 2.4GHz 4GB RAM NO HDD

$126.00



HP ProLiant ML30 Gen9 SERVER E3-1230v6 3.5GHz 32GB NO HDD NO OS  picture

HP ProLiant ML30 Gen9 SERVER E3-1230v6 3.5GHz 32GB NO HDD NO OS

$299.00



Dell PowerEdge R720XD Server | 2x E5-2670 16 Cores | 64GB | H710 | 24TB Storage picture

Dell PowerEdge R720XD Server | 2x E5-2670 16 Cores | 64GB | H710 | 24TB Storage

$834.95



HP ProLiant DL360p G8 Server / 2x E5-2620 2.0GHz = 12 Cores / 32GB RAM / 2x PSU picture

HP ProLiant DL360p G8 Server / 2x E5-2620 2.0GHz = 12 Cores / 32GB RAM / 2x PSU

$119.99



Dell PowerEdge R720 2.5

Dell PowerEdge R720 2.5" Server, 2x 2.0GHz 6 Core E5-2620, 32GB, 4x Trays, H710

$269.99



Chenbro NR12000 1U BAREBONES SERVER 1x POWER SUPPPLY picture

Chenbro NR12000 1U BAREBONES SERVER 1x POWER SUPPPLY

$96.00



HP Proliant DL380 G7 2x Xeon QC X5660 2.8GHz / 16gb / 8x 146gb DP / 2x 750w picture

HP Proliant DL380 G7 2x Xeon QC X5660 2.8GHz / 16gb / 8x 146gb DP / 2x 750w

$94.99