Quote Originally Posted by SiKing
This is a little confusing.
In KNOPPIX, you normally left-click on the disk drive icon to mount it. Once the disk is mounted, you can right-click on the icon, and select change the read/write permissions to, well, change the read/write permissions - you will be prompted to confirm this. Right-clicking on the disk icon, you can also select unmount, to stop working with the disk all together.
Does this clear it up?
I could be wrong, but I think you need to uncheck the "Read Only" settings while the partition is UN-mounted.

Next time I am using KNOPPIX, I will need to check this one out.