Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: linux-on-laptops by manufactor/ modell

  1. #1
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436

    linux-on-laptops by manufactor/ modell

    There is a big collection of links on the net, not specific to knoppix, but might be very helpful to find out about how to get hardware working etc.

    http://www.linux-on-laptops.com/

    It's ordered by manufactor and model and might help in many cases, perhaps it would be a good idea to make this link sticky (with exlamation mark and 'wichtig' on my system)?

    - Ah! I see, I may mark it myself as 'important'. Hope this is welcomed.
    ---
    don't visit my homepage:http://home.arcor.de/hirnstrom/

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    The info in the site stated above is very helpful yet there was no mention if the on-board modems on the laptops work. I know that use of dialup modems are a bit passe in highly developed areas like America or Europe but in Asia dialup is still the norm.

    So where to get an info about laptops whose on board modems work in linux?

  3. #3
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    Here is a page about modems with linux:

    http://www.linmodems.org

    not about laptops in special, but the key is the modem-chipset.
    It might be (and often is) used in different laptops, and even desktops.

  4. #4
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by user unknown
    Here is a page about modems with linux:

    http://www.linmodems.org

    not about laptops in special, but the key is the modem-chipset.
    It might be (and often is) used in different laptops, and even desktops.
    I know that site having been able to compile modem drivers in the past but it is different thing when it comes to laptops as they don't usually state what kind of chipset .Say I check the laptop site and decide on lets say a Dell as stated there-only to find out later that I cannot get into the internet because the modem is not working-specially if the linux kernel is the latest 2.6!
    At this point I will then have to buy windows and regret about linux!

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    Whether the onboard-modem is mentioned or not differs from page to page.
    Additionally you may contact the vendor.
    And get an external modem.

  6. #6
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    I forgot to thank you for replying to my "rants".
    I am in a region/area where linux is almost unheard of and to contact the local agent would be almost a futile attempt.
    Can you suggest a pcmcia modem that will not need a linux driver?
    Thanks again!

  7. #7
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    436
    No - I never used my pcmcia device.

    Even if your vendor hasn't heard from linux, it's good practice, to let them know, that there is request for linux. Perhaps he knows the next time, and perhaps he uses linux by luck privately, and knows more than you expect.

  8. #8

    HP Pavilion ze 5730us

    I did not see this model listed, but I decided to try it anyway.

    Knoppix worked fine!

    I also tried DSL and that worked fine but would not "release" my computer on shutdown. I had no problem in that regard with Knoppix though.

    This was my first sucessful use of Linux.

    I will be around here to read more how to's!

    Thanks,

    Phil

  9. #9
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    58
    When I first checked this forum I recall that someone wanted info on Knoppix with new laptops. well here is my recent experience.
    I started the process of evaluating laptops for replaement of four next year. I did NOT evaluae HP as I already know that they tend to configure their hardware so that it works with Knoppix/Linux only with some serious reconfiguration and workarounds unless they set the machine up for their proprietary Linux.
    I went to Best Buy who is the largest supplier in the area. First, I looked at what was available. I limited the systems to the following base requirements. AMD cpu with 32 or 64 bit processor, 256-512 ram prefferably DDR or SDram, and 1024x768, at least resolution. I didn't get to check modems before .. well read on.

    Toshiba 10721 - 360J series with Intel Celeron will not load, Knoppix hangs before hardware detection.

    Gateway7510GX 64bit SCSI
    Had to noscsi, noacpi. Bios overrides noacpi and will not load apm. Loading is very slow but it does function. The right click function won't work on the touchpad but does work with external mouse. many small glitches.

    Compaq 64bit AMD
    Clean load. Pointer and tap sensitivity needs to be decreased significantly and the keyboard accelerator needs to be at or near minimum. The capslock is reversed and will not clear. TO do standard you need to hit the shift key. wold not let Open Office load and while it loadd frozen bubble it would not run it.

    At this point I was preparing to do some program testing when the department manager came up to me and even knowing I was looking at replacing potentially 4 laptops he told me that I couldn't use the knoppix disk. His rational was that if we let one person do it we have to let everyone do it. He wasn't flexible nor did the concept of watching to insure the disk the potential purchaser uses isn't toxic or loads running programs.
    He got a little pissy then and when I told him that if I wanted to mess up his laptops, I didn't need the Knoppix disk to do it. I was asked to leave the store. I let the store manager know about the potential sale he lost the store and she was pretty red faced when I walked out.

    By My Hand ~ I Remain,
    Captain Cautious

  10. #10
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Muscat.Oman
    Posts
    262
    You are indeed lucky that you were able to start your test, my experience is that the salesperson outright refused to use the knoppix cd to be loaded. I don't argue,I think he has the right to refuse. Most especially with Toshiba laptops that don't support linux.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. List of Successful Laptops
    By mfer in forum Laptops
    Replies: 190
    Last Post: 07-22-2007, 04:12 PM
  2. Minimum Requirements for Laptops
    By pstroka_taran in forum Laptops
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2004, 06:42 AM
  3. ACPI it's not just for laptops.
    By rickenbacherus in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-04-2004, 11:24 PM
  4. What Laptops run Knoppix?
    By mithrill in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2003, 03:10 AM
  5. Knoppix On Laptops Section
    By Nthline in forum Ideas
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-02-2003, 10:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB RAM picture

HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB RAM

$350.00



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Pentium picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 Plus Ultra Micro Tower Server - 1 x Intel Pentium

$453.26



HPE Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB RAM picture

HPE Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Xeon CPU 2.30GHz, 4x1TB HDDs, 8GB RAM

$350.00



HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 Pentium G2020T (2.50GHz) No HDD 6GB DDR3 picture

HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 Pentium G2020T (2.50GHz) No HDD 6GB DDR3

$275.99



Hp proliant micro gen8 server 4t.b picture

Hp proliant micro gen8 server 4t.b

$299.99



ProLiant Server HP HPE Micro AMD Opteron Gen 10 X3216 870208 871721 Enterprise picture

ProLiant Server HP HPE Micro AMD Opteron Gen 10 X3216 870208 871721 Enterprise

$474.94



HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Intel  2.30GHz/10GB RAM No HHD See Notes & Picture picture

HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8, Intel 2.30GHz/10GB RAM No HHD See Notes & Picture

$300.00



HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 Pentium G2020T (2.50GHz) No HDD 6GB DDR3 (1H5.71.JK picture

HP Proliant MicroServer Gen8 Pentium G2020T (2.50GHz) No HDD 6GB DDR3 (1H5.71.JK

$300.00



HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 picture

HPE ProLiant MicroServer Gen10

$449.00



HP MicroServer Gen8 Server / 1x E3-1280 V2 @ 2.30GHz / 0 HDD/ NO RAM picture

HP MicroServer Gen8 Server / 1x E3-1280 V2 @ 2.30GHz / 0 HDD/ NO RAM

$279.99