Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Knoppix doesn't load

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5

    Knoppix doesn't load

    Hi I have just downloaded the latest version of Knoppix via this website (www.knoppix.net) and it will not boot - I have tried repeatedly and every time it gets as far as probing SCSI... aic7xxx.o (or something along those lines) and stays there. I have waited upto an hour on one occasion to see whether it was just very slow (since I have not run it before).
    My machine is a Intel Pentium 4 1.8Ghz with 512MB SDRAM, 4 USB ports (Intel), a Seagate 40GB 7200RPM HDD and a Western Digital 60GB 5400RPM HDD (both on the same IDE chain). The CD reader I am trying it in is a Philips CDRW (54x) and I have also tried booting from the DVD drive in the same way (which is a pretty new (about 4 months old) Lite-on (16x dvd speed) drive. I also have a USB Alcatel Speedtouch modem plugged in, but I have tried with it unplugged also, and AGP GeForce2 MX440 64MB AGP graphics. I also have a Winmodem, NIC and Sound onboard (all three).
    I also have NO SCSI devices.
    BTW when I boot I do not type anything, I just hit return (enter) at the BOOT: prompt, since I do not know what to write.
    Does anyone have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    colorado springs, colorado
    Posts
    1,933
    Have a look at the cheat codes either in the Docs section, on the cd itself or even when you boot the cd. Try this:

    boot:knoppix noscsi

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    5
    Thanks, I just came back here to say that I can boot by typing expert and saying no to scsi support, but this method looks even better since I dont have to press yes and no to the various items thanks

Similar Threads

  1. knoppix will load, but after system starts, GUI wont load.
    By n()()dle in forum General Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-23-2004, 01:39 AM
  2. Can't load Knoppix
    By Igor in forum General Support
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-03-2004, 04:02 AM
  3. Good Grief!! Can't Load, Won't Load
    By Medicate in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2004, 07:08 AM
  4. Knoppix won't load
    By bored in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-27-2004, 01:29 AM
  5. won't load knoppix
    By caven_a in forum General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-2003, 08:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

IBM x3650M3 Server Dual E5640 4 Core 2.67GHZ 96GB DDR3 1x 250GB SATA picture

IBM x3650M3 Server Dual E5640 4 Core 2.67GHZ 96GB DDR3 1x 250GB SATA

$199.99



 IBM SYSTEM x3200 M2 HDD Removed picture

IBM SYSTEM x3200 M2 HDD Removed

$90.00



IBM 3630-M4 SERVER AC1 x3630 M4 (E5-2400) NO HDDs picture

IBM 3630-M4 SERVER AC1 x3630 M4 (E5-2400) NO HDDs

$240.00



IBM SYSTEM X3650 M5 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHz E5-2620V3 8gb SFF 2 X 300GB 10K SERVER  picture

IBM SYSTEM X3650 M5 2 X SIX CORE 2.40GHz E5-2620V3 8gb SFF 2 X 300GB 10K SERVER

$599.99



Lenovo IBM System X 3250 M6 Server With E3-12760 V6, No Ram, No Drives. picture

Lenovo IBM System X 3250 M6 Server With E3-12760 V6, No Ram, No Drives.

$500.00



IBM System X3850 X5 Server Quad X7560 8 CORE 2.27GHz 256GB DDR3 1x 250GB SATA picture

IBM System X3850 X5 Server Quad X7560 8 CORE 2.27GHz 256GB DDR3 1x 250GB SATA

$449.99



IBM Power 710 8231-E2B Express Server Single Power7 4Core 3GHz 32GB DDR3 picture

IBM Power 710 8231-E2B Express Server Single Power7 4Core 3GHz 32GB DDR3

$499.99



Blue Coat Proxy SG S200 1U Rack Server - Intel i3-4330 @ 3.50GHz 8GB RAM  picture

Blue Coat Proxy SG S200 1U Rack Server - Intel i3-4330 @ 3.50GHz 8GB RAM

$82.99



IBM SYSTEM X3650 M4 2.9GHz E5-2690 SFF SERVER.  No HDD, No RAM picture

IBM SYSTEM X3650 M4 2.9GHz E5-2690 SFF SERVER. No HDD, No RAM

$199.00



IBM BladeCenter Server  picture

IBM BladeCenter Server

$100.00