Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Grub Question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19

    Grub Question

    I installed grub and i have the following as my c:\boot.ini

    [boot loader]
    c:\boot\stage1="GRUB"
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect


    I also have the following as my menu.lst



    # Sample boot menu configuration file
    #

    # Boot automatically after a minute.
    timeout 60

    # By default, boot the second entry.
    default 1

    # Fallback to the first entry.
    fallback 0

    title Windows XP
    unhide (hd0,0)
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    title KNOPPIX
    root (hd6,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz
    initrd /boot/initrd




    But I am not presented with a boot menu when I start my comp, it goes directly to windows xp. What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    929
    I'm certainly no grub expert, but it looks to me as though Grub should expect Knoppix on the 3rd partition of the 7th hard drive...........

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    fdisk in linux shows the following:

    /dev/hda1 NTFS
    /dev/hda2 Win95 Ext'd (I'm using win XP though)
    /dev/hda5 Linux Swap
    /dev/hda6 Linux


    The bootable flag is on for the hda1.


    Now, what should I put in that menu.lst that would allow me to have a boot menu for linux and windows xp.

  4. #4
    Member registered user
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    94
    Code:
    ...
    title KNOPPIX 
    root (hd0,5)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz 
    initrd /boot/initrd 
    ...
    The GRUBbish way of naming partitions:

    hda = (hd0)
    hdb = (hd1)
    ...
    hda1 = (hd0,0)
    hda2 = (hd0,1)
    ...
    hda6 = (hd0,5)

    Ciao Martin

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    I used LILO and now everything is fixed.

    THank you for all your guy's help!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1
    Hi there , my line order is diferent of yours , and for me it works:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    c:\boot\stage1="GRUB"

    Sorry I saw now that you have solved the problem

Similar Threads

  1. Question about KNOPPIX bootable floppy image with GRUB
    By wslkevin in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 05:31 AM
  2. GRUB ... then nothing
    By dantay in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-16-2004, 02:06 PM
  3. Grub settings, quick question... really my last question :p
    By mark1221 in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-01-2003, 10:32 PM
  4. Grub loader question
    By iamanewbie in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-24-2003, 12:59 PM
  5. Grub question
    By JNeuhoff in forum Hdd Install / Debian / Apt
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2003, 12:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •