You really don't want to get into the habit of hitting CTRL-ALT-DEL on a Linux/Unix box. Trust me.
Its not too bad in the new distros, but you were in a whole world of hurt in some of the older ones. It used to be the equivalent of 'shutdown now', do not pass go, do not save any open files, etc.

Made worse when people put Windows and *Nix servers in the same rack. ;>