I never answered the question about whether to encrypt this persistent home. After I told it to create it, the window disappeared and I thought it was done. Now I realize from something I read on another site that it wasn't done at all--it was just taking a long time. So I turned off my computer while it was in the middle of creating the persistent home area, the format is unrecognizable, and that's why Knoppix thinks it's encrypted. It's not encrypted; it's corrupted. Now what do I do? How do I delete it and start again?