I have a Knoppix box set up and sharing files via Samba for approx. 50 users. I have set user and group permissions on directories and files. Each time "user 1" opens a file and saves it, the permissions change. They then show up as "user 1" being the owner with read/write permission, and the group stays the same except that the permissions for that group change to read only. This makes it so the only user that can open and modify the file is "user 1". Has anybody seen this before? If so I would greatly appreciate any help on this. Thanks.

Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 2 Laptop 14” HD Ryzen 5 16GB RAM 512GB SSD Win 11 Pro
$334.99
Lenovo ThinkPad L15 Gen 3 15.6" 16GB, Thunder Black
$241.50
Lenovo ThinkPad E14 Gen 3 Laptop 14” FHD AMD Ryzen 5 16GB RAM 512GB SSD Win 11
$374.99
Lenovo ThinkPad L15 Gen 3 15.6" 16GB, Thunder Black
$241.50
Lenovo Legion 5 Gaming 15.1" WQXGA OLED 165Hz Core i9-14900HX 16GB 1TB RTX 5070
$1469.00
LENOVO THINKPAD T14 GEN 2i CORE I7-11165G7 2.8GHZ 16GB 256 SSD WCAM WI1 CORD
$250.00
Lenovo Thinkpad T14 Gen 2i 14" 16GB 512GB, Black
$313.00
Lenovo ThinkPad T14 Gen 1 14" AMD Ryzen 5 16GB 256GB SSD
$219.99
Lenovo Thinkpad T14 Gen 1 14.0" 16GB 512GB, BLACK
$285.99
Lenovo ThinkPad X280 Laptop 12.5” FHD Core i7 16GB RAM 256GB SSD Windows 11 WiFi
$242.22