Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: hda1 Mounting Trouble

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6

    hda1 Mounting Trouble

    I am trying to get data from an internal HD that has a Debian install on it, but that has boot issues. I am pretty much a noob when it comes to linux administration. The box was compromised and at this point, I would be happy to get a couple of directories tar'd up and emailed to myself and then do a fresh install.

    I created a Knoppix live CD from the 5.0.1 iso I downloaded and everything fired up the first time. However, I cannot seem to figure out how to mount the existing, internal, HDD. On my desktop I see the CD, Floppy, Knoppix icon and trash. However, there is nothing about hda1 there. I can browse hda (the partition is 1 in there) with testdisk, but when I try to mount it by making an entry into fstab and then mount it with something like mount /dev/hda1 /media/hd or hda1 (and creating a directory for hda1 in /media) it tells me the drive is mounted already or the mount point is busy.

    I just tried the nofstab cheatcode and that didn't help as I got the same busy message.

    I am sure I am about a half of a step away from making this work, I just can't seem to figure it out. Any help is greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205

    Re: hda1 Mounting Trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by iamchachi
    I am trying to get data from an internal HD that has a Debian install on it, but that has boot issues. I am pretty much a noob when it comes to linux administration. The box was compromised and at this point, I would be happy to get a couple of directories tar'd up and emailed to myself and then do a fresh install.

    I created a Knoppix live CD from the 5.0.1 iso I downloaded and everything fired up the first time. However, I cannot seem to figure out how to mount the existing, internal, HDD. On my desktop I see the CD, Floppy, Knoppix icon and trash. However, there is nothing about hda1 there. I can browse hda (the partition is 1 in there) with testdisk, but when I try to mount it by making an entry into fstab and then mount it with something like mount /dev/hda1 /media/hd or hda1 (and creating a directory for hda1 in /media) it tells me the drive is mounted already or the mount point is busy.

    I just tried the nofstab cheatcode and that didn't help as I got the same busy message.

    I am sure I am about a half of a step away from making this work, I just can't seem to figure it out. Any help is greatly appreciated.
    When mounting manually, I usually suggest to mounting to a normal directory outside /media/ or /mnt/ because those might have some special system-settings. Also DO NOT modify fstab, that is not needed and just complicates things.

    So try e.g. this:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /hda1
    sudo mount /dev/hda1 /hda1
    And then browse from /hda1 to see if the mounting was successfull.
    If this doesn't work, please post any errors you get.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6
    malaire, thanks for the reply.

    sudo mkdir /hda1 - no error
    sudo mount /dev/hda1 /hda1 - gives mount: /dev/hda1 already mounted or /hda1 busy

    FYI, I can cd to /hda1, but nothing in there

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    8

    Re: hda1 Mounting Trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by malaire
    When mounting manually, I usually suggest to mounting to a normal directory outside /media/ or /mnt/ because those might have some special system-settings. Also DO NOT modify fstab, that is not needed and just complicates things.

    So try e.g. this:
    Code:
    mkdir /hda1
    mount /dev/hda1 /hda1
    And then browse from /hda1 to see if the mounting was successfull.
    If this doesn't work, please post any errors you get.
    Sweet..... Worked sorta.... I can browse hda1 in the root console, but couldn't use the broswer. Would I have to be running as root user in the GUI. sry noob in this stuff.
    Bttw I'm running Knoppix Live CD and I only set the root pass.

    Thanks I feel S-M-R-T!

  5. #5
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    205

    Re: hda1 Mounting Trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by Patonb
    Quote Originally Posted by malaire
    When mounting manually, I usually suggest to mounting to a normal directory outside /media/ or /mnt/ because those might have some special system-settings. Also DO NOT modify fstab, that is not needed and just complicates things.


    So try e.g. this:
    Code:
    mkdir /hda1
    mount /dev/hda1 /hda1
    And then browse from /hda1 to see if the mounting was successfull.
    If this doesn't work, please post any errors you get.
    Sweet..... Worked sorta.... I can browse hda1 in the root console, but couldn't use the broswer. Would I have to be running as root user in the GUI. sry noob in this stuff.
    Bttw I'm running Knoppix Live CD and I only set the root pass.

    Thanks I feel S-M-R-T!
    After mounting, you could try chmod 0777 /hda1 from root-console and then try to browse it again.
    Someone said in another message that this helps (at least in some cases).
    (I don't really understand all the different permission-problems which can happen when mounting.)

    An alternative would be to start e.g. Konqueror as root-user, e.g. with konqueror --profile filemanagement from root-console. This gives quite many errors for me, but seems to work. I don't know if those errors are significant or not.

Similar Threads

  1. Sound Trouble + Modem Trouble on Knoppix 4.0
    By AJones in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 07:26 PM
  2. Trouble mounting/copying from ntfs disk
    By sakura_candy in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 06:22 PM
  3. System hangs while mounting hda1
    By zorblek in forum Hardware & Booting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2006, 05:33 AM
  4. Trouble Mounting Harddrive
    By NeedHelp1212 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2006, 03:14 AM
  5. Trouble Mounting a Hard Drive
    By hadeschild in forum MS Windows & New to Linux
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-07-2006, 03:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Electric Vacuum Cleaner Air Duster Suction High Pressure for Computer Car Home picture

Electric Vacuum Cleaner Air Duster Suction High Pressure for Computer Car Home

$9.97



Cordless Wireless Air Blower Handheld Vacuum Cleaner Strong Suction Car Home picture

Cordless Wireless Air Blower Handheld Vacuum Cleaner Strong Suction Car Home

$23.98



KLIM Cool Laptop Cooler Fan, Portable Quiet Cooling Vacuum w/Display - BLUE LED picture

KLIM Cool Laptop Cooler Fan, Portable Quiet Cooling Vacuum w/Display - BLUE LED

$15.95



Compressed Air Duster with Air Blower 100000RPM Vacuum Cleaner and Air Duster picture

Compressed Air Duster with Air Blower 100000RPM Vacuum Cleaner and Air Duster

$38.99



Mini Computer Vacuum USB Keyboard Cleaner PC Laptop Brush Dust Cleaning Kit US picture

Mini Computer Vacuum USB Keyboard Cleaner PC Laptop Brush Dust Cleaning Kit US

$13.68



Mini USB Keyboard Vacuum Cleaner PC Laptop Computer Brush Dust Cleaning Kit picture

Mini USB Keyboard Vacuum Cleaner PC Laptop Computer Brush Dust Cleaning Kit

$2.99



3in1 Handheld Vacuum  Keyboard Cleaner Dust Cleaning Laptop Desktop PC Computer picture

3in1 Handheld Vacuum Keyboard Cleaner Dust Cleaning Laptop Desktop PC Computer

$16.99



BLACK Cooler master musketeer 3 RF-5AD-SAB1 Vacuum tube audio NEW picture

BLACK Cooler master musketeer 3 RF-5AD-SAB1 Vacuum tube audio NEW

$250.00



Electric Mini Air Duster Blower Vacuum Cleaner for PC Computer Laptop Dust picture

Electric Mini Air Duster Blower Vacuum Cleaner for PC Computer Laptop Dust

$29.40



Datavac PC Personal Cleaner Computer Vacuum 115 Volts of Cleaning Power Tested picture

Datavac PC Personal Cleaner Computer Vacuum 115 Volts of Cleaning Power Tested

$18.89