Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Knoppix won't detect hardware

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9

    Knoppix won't detect hardware

    Hello, I recently got a Knoppix boot cd but it won't detect any hardware. could someone please help me with this?
    Last edited by Werner P. Schulz; 07-06-2014 at 03:25 PM. Reason: multiple question marks

  2. #2
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    It could be helpful to know the version of Knoppix.

    You should also describe your system as complete as possible.

  3. #3
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    Please tell us more!
    What Knoppix version?
    Integrity of Knoppix DVD tested with the cheatcode
    Code:
    knoppix testcd
    Which computer are you using, size of RAM?
    Hardware ok by then?
    What do you see starting with Knoppix?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9
    I'm using a dell latitude. RAM 512mb knoppix 7.2 I think it's boot only.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9
    Windows that is on the computer detects hardware fine. What else do you want to know about the computer? When I boot knoppix i see a knoppix folder on the upper left and at the bottom is the task bar.

  6. #6
    Moderator Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Germany/ Dietzenbach
    Posts
    1,124
    When I boot knoppix i see a knoppix folder on the upper left and at the bottom is the task bar.
    Well, Knoppix recognizes your computer, the graphikcard and the monitor.

    What are you missing?
    What about "knoppix testcd"?
    Did you try the Knoppix menu (1st icon within the taskbar)?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Werner P. Schulz View Post
    Well, Knoppix recognizes your computer, the graphikcard and the monitor.

    What are you missing?
    What about "knoppix testcd"?
    Did you try the Knoppix menu (1st icon within the taskbar)?
    When I plug hardware in, such as using a sata/IDE to USB adapter to test a hard drive. Yes I tried the menu. Where do you want me to type the code?

  8. #8
    Senior Member registered user
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    508
    I suggest that you try the following.


    1. Boot your computer from the Knoppix CD.
    2. Connect your HDD to the SATA/IDE adapter and switch on the power of your HDD.
    3. Plug in your USB adapter and open the PCMan Filemanager.
    4. Tell us if there are new partitions to select.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    9

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by klaus2008 View Post
    I suggest that you try the following.


    1. Boot your computer from the Knoppix CD.
    2. Connect your HDD to the SATA/IDE adapter and switch on the power of your HDD.
    3. Plug in your USB adapter and open the PCMan Filemanager.
    4. Tell us if there are new partitions to select.
    Yes it worked!!! Thank you very much!!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    3
    Hello!
    I have HP Compaq nc 6220 and XP Pro SP3 on it, 1GB RAM, C drive 80GB, no other partition. Hard disks crashed. I downloaded and burned Knoppix 7.2 on DVD. When I boot off of it I cannot see HDD and there are no minimize, maximize and close buttons in the window when I open one. Also I cannot move the window. I wrote command ˝cat /proc/partitions˝ (without quotes) and I saw sda1 - my corrupt disk but now I donīt know how to access and rescue files off of it.
    When I replace infected HDD with healthy one and boot from the same Knoppix DVD, Knoppix works great but I donīt need it for the healthy disks.
    Can anyone help please. Thanks in advance.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •