Thread: Setting Up Win XP Network and Use ICS

Setting Up Win XP Network and Use ICS

I am a complete linux newbie and i am running Knoppix off the cd.
    I have 3 pc's all connected via a hub.
    I would like to know how to setup the network on knoppix on 1 of my computers and how to make it work with ICS with xp with the knoppix computer connecting through another computer to the internet
    I run the default settings for ics that you get from the network setup wizard.(DHCP server etc.)
    I run a PPPOE internet connection.(Aol Broadband in the UK bypassing the software)

I would some to explain how to do this in a very simple way to me
    Thanks
    Stuart

Administrator Site Admin-

Re: Setting Up Win XP Network and Use ICS

Quote Originally Posted by snmacd
    I have 3 pc's all connected via a hub.
    I would like to know how to setup the network on knoppix on 1 of my computers and how to make it work with ICS with xp with the knoppix computer connecting through another computer to the internet...
    I run a PPPOE internet connection.(Aol Broadband in the UK bypassing the software)...
    There have been some other threads here that discuss ICS, you might want to read them. I've never used ICS, so don't feel comfortable saying if it will work or not (there seem to be 2 different answers to that question). I hope someone who has done it can give you a better answer. But since you are using a broadband connection, I would like to suggest a different solution. It will cost a few bucks but not much, and I think you will be much happier in the end: Use a small Internet router. These devices are now amazingly inexpensive (often $10 US or less here afer rebate for the wired versions), and will give you a lot of utility and protection, as well as avoiding issues of Knoppix trying to get to the Internet through XP.